DE | EN

Wiebke Merbeth

Wiebke Merbeth has been head of sustainability operations at BayernInvest Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft mbH since 1 February 2020. Together with institutional customers she’s been steadily advancing the company’s sustainability investment strategies. The proven sustainability expert has a key role in bringing, by 2025, all of BayernInvest’s own-managed portfolios in line with the 1.5-degree cap set under the Paris Climate Agreement – in ways that are compatible with the customers’ individual investment strategies.
Merbeth’s previous position was that of Institutional & Corporate Sales Director at HSBC Global Asset Management Deutschland GmbH. Since 2007 she’s been guiding institutional customers in their liquid and illiquid capital investments. As a sustainability product specialist she expertly applies sustainability policies to the investment process. In so doing – regardless for which business area or product group – she also confers with investor groups, associations and issuers.
Wiebke Merbeth is a constitutive member of the Sustainable Finance Committee of the German government. The Committee, which convened for the first time on 6 June 2019, advises the federal government in its endeavour to make Germany one of the leading countries in sustainable finance. According to Merbeth, “Sustainability risks are business risks and have a direct impact on a company’s financial performance. There’s no more getting around recognising sustainability risks, integrating them into risk management and engaging in transparent reporting.”

DE | EN

Wiebke Merbeth

Wiebke Merbeth ist seit 1. Februar 2020 Leiterin Nachhaltigkeit bei der BayernInvest Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft mbH. In Zusammenarbeit mit institutionellen Kunden treibt sie nachhaltige Anlagestrategien konsequent voran. Die ausgewiesene Nachhaltigkeitsexpertin wirkt entscheidend dabei mit, bis zum Jahr 2025 alle von der BayernInvest in eigener Verantwortung gemanagten Portfolien in Einklang mit dem 1,5-Grad-Ziel des Pariser Klimaabkommens zu bringen – in Abstimmung mit den jeweiligen Anlagestrategien der Kunden.

Wiebke Merbeth war zuletzt Direktorin für Institutional & Corporate Sales bei der HSBC Global Asset Management Deutschland GmbH. Seit 2007 begleitet und berät sie institutionelle Adressen bei der Kapitalanlage von liquiden und illiquiden Mitteln. Als Produktspezialistin für Nachhaltigkeit ist sie Expertin für die Implementierung von Nachhaltigkeitsansätzen im Investmentprozess. Hierbei steht sie – über die Geschäftsbereiche und Produktgruppen hinweg – auch mit Investorengruppen, Verbänden und Emittenten im Austausch.
Wiebke Merbeth ist konstituierendes Mitglied im Sustainable Finance-Beirat der Bundesregierung. Der zum 6. Juni 2019 ins Leben gerufene Beirat berät die Bundesregierung auf dem Weg zu einen der führenden Standorte für nachhaltige Finanzen zu werden. Wiebke Merbeth: „Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken sind Geschäftsrisiken und wirken sich direkt auf die finanzielle Performance von Unternehmen aus. Es führt heute kein Weg mehr daran vorbei, Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken zu erfassen, im Risikomanagement zu integrieren und eine transparente Berichterstattung umzusetzen.“